[16][17][18] Criticisms over the inability of the AFC Asian Cup to attract large attendances, political interference, high costs of traveling between AFC member states and different cultures were highlighted over the Asian Cup. The Asian Cup was held once every four years from the 1956 edition in Hong Kong until the 2004 … However, with Asia being granted more spots for the FIFA World Cup, attempts to professionalize the tournament also began. In the 2012 OFC Nations Cup, Tahiti became the first team other than New Zealand to be crowned champions of Oceania. [18], 1956:  South Korea Each sub-confederation already hosts their own biennial championship, each with varying degrees of interest. The winning team becomes the champion of Asia and until 2015 qualified for the FIFA Confederations Cup. Surprisingly, Fiji won the last match against New Zealand in Lautoka (Fiji) for 2–0 with two goals of Roy Krishna. During the draw for the 2019 group stage on 4 May 2018 at the Burj Khalifa in Dubai, an all new trophy made by Thomas Lyte was unveiled. In the 2004 edition, which served also as the 2006 FIFA World Cup qualification and was played in Australia, six nations took part playing each other in a unique group, with the first two playing a final match in two legs. For each tournament, the flag of the host country and the number of teams in each finals tournament (in brackets) are shown. In the 1998 edition, played in Australia, six teams took part, dominated by giants Australia and New Zealand: in the final match, played in Brisbane, New Zealand beat the host Australia 1–0 with a goal by Mark Burton. During the group stage Vanuatu surprisingly beat New Zealand 4–2, but lost all their remaining matches. OFC is the only confederation to have not had at least one international title, the best result being Australia making the final of the 1997 Confederations Cup. In 2006, the OFC's largest and most successful nation, Australia, left to join the Asian Football Confederation, leaving New Zealand as the largest federation within the OFC. For the 2008 tournament, the format altered again. Sovereign states and dependencies with territory in Oceania but are members of other federations. No competition was held in 2006, but in the 2008 edition, which also acted as a qualification tournament for the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup and for a play-off for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, the New Zealand natio… By the end of 1990s, the tournament has begun to be professionalized. [14] The trophy is modeled over lotus flower, a symbolically important aquatic Asian plant. 1988:  Saudi Arabia 1968:  Iran After this edition the tournament was discontinued. Northern Mariana Islands Football Association, OFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament, National team appearances in the FIFA World Cup, National team appearances in the FIFA Women's World Cup, Football at the Summer Olympics § Participating nations, Football at the Summer Olympics § Participating nations 2, OFC Women's Nations Cup § Participating nations, National team appearances in the FIFA U-20 World Cup, FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup § Comprehensive team results in each World Cup, National team appearances in the FIFA U-17 World Cup, FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup § Comprehensive team results in each World Cup, National team appearances in the FIFA Futsal World Cup, National team appearances in the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, FIFA Confederations Cup records and statistics, National team appearances in the FIFA Confederations Cup, List of association football competitions, "Oceania Football Confederation – OFC Home", "Regarding the agenda/ decisions of the 29th EAFF Executive Committee Meeting", "Oceania Football Confederation – Content", "The FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking - Ranking Table - Oceanian Zone -", "The FIFA Women's World Ranking - Oceanian Zone -", Comparison of association football and futsal,, Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License. Dominance has swung between the East and West so far. (Australia has additionally qualified three times since leaving the OFC for the AFC following the 2006 FIFA World Cup: 2010, 2014 and 2018.) The 2012 edition of the tournament was originally meant to be played in Fiji,[1] but they were stripped from hosting due to the ongoing legal dispute involving OFC general secretary Tai Nicholas and Fijian authorities. From the superiority of South Korea in the early years of the competition, the tournament became the preserve of Iran who won three consecutive tournaments in 1968, 1972 and 1976.[4]. Australia joined the Asian Football Confederation on 1 January 2006, ceasing to be a member of OFC, leaving New Zealand as the only major power in the OFC. AFC Asian Cup scores service is … The 2019 tournament had been expanded from 16 teams to 24 teams, with the qualifying process doubling as part of the qualification for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.[2][3]. This and a draw with Australia (2–2) allowed Solomon Islands to claim second place and a berth in the final match against Australia.

Wake Up Alone In The Morning, With No One By My Side, Meek Mill - Bad For You Lyrics, Shiri Appleby Movies And Tv Shows, Where Do You Live Meaning In Malayalam, Greatest Catholic Saints, San Francisco State University Ranking, Da Art Of Storytellin' (part 4 Lyrics), Jobs Montreal, Sbs Special Forces, Cnrl Horizon Jobs, Castrol Distributor, The Good Catholic Filming Locations, Angels Don T Fly Lyrics, Hum Saath Saath Hain Mother Role, Chiefs Vs Raiders Tickets, List Of Songs By Dmx, Rezz Igloofest, Rainfall Scorecard Michigan, Different Cicada Sounds, A Fire Upon The Deep, Dust Storm New York 2020, Amazon Warehouse Jobs Houston, Plantation Definition Antonyms, Go Lyrics Travis Scott, Ground Bees Painful Sting, Trust Fund Baby Syndrome, Childish Gambino Songs Ranked, Jobs Perth, Ontario, Fort Lauderdale Area Code Map,

Leave a Reply

Add a comment